SAAB 9-5 Xenon/ Halogen interchangeability FYI

So after my wife cracked up the front end of my 04 Aero with Xenons I had to make a decision. Use some Halogens that I have and not pay a dime or find some used Xenons and pay a crazy amount of money for them.

I went with the cheap route and thought I was going to have to do some specialty wiring to make them work correctly. Well I did nothing… plugged them in and viola they work flawlessly. Low beam and high beam are perfect. Absolutely brilliant.

They do need a buff though… hope this helps someone in the future.

6 comments
  1. Ian said:

    I am planning on doing the same thing? DId you get the SID warning in the dash?

    • Nope, no lights whatsoever. It works perfectly. The “Brights” light comes on when it should and shuts off when it should. It’s a direct replacement.

  2. JMAC said:

    HOW did you come to this and complete the job? I have to replace the passenger’s side lights and after finding lights that ranged from $100-$300, and looking into having the lights put in… I’m wondering can i do this myself?!!! I did find lights for about $100 (wiring included)

    Thanks

  3. rminnj said:

    Your saying you replaced the plastic xeon headlamps with the glass ones from a 2002 9-5? The light bolt right
    up physically to the same screw holes? The wiring connectors are the same? It must be awesome to go from
    plastic lenses to glass.

    • I’m saying I replaced the plastic Xenon headlights with the Plastic Halogen headlights. Glass was only on the 99-01 year 9-5s from 2002 and newer the “facelift” models it was switched to plastic

Leave a comment