theSAABguy FAQs: My turbo just went what should I do?

The turbocharger of any car or truck can wear out and begin to leak oil into the exhaust/intake housings. You will know this is happening when huge plumes of white smoke begin coming out the tail pipe. Sometimes the car still runs and drives fine, but you dare not drive it because of the smoke screen that would put James Bond’s to shame. Also you shouldn’t drive it because you’re losing oil quickly.

Here’s a video from YouTube which describes what I’m talking about (Video from YouTuber SAABKyle04)…

The first thing you may be inclined to do is tow it or risk driving it to the local SAAB dealer who take a look and absolutely blow you away with a repair estimate of $1500-$2000. Even an independent shop or local mechanic will charge you out the nose. The truth is you have a few more options, even if you’re determined never to open your hood let alone turn a wrench at the very least you can source a rebuilt turbo for half the cost of a new one.

For the opportunist a failed turbo out of a base model SAAB 9-3 or 9-5 presents a rather fun opportunity. UPGRADE! The base model SAABs also designated light pressure turbo (LPT) were equipped with a Garrett GT17 turbocharger. Some have seen these turbos give them 200K miles (unlikely, but it’s happened). Others have been replacing these turbos annually due to premature failure. The upgrade comes in the form of the Aero model turbocharger the Mitsubishi TD-04. This turbo has proven not only to be more robust, but also supplies the greater pressures the Aero model comes with. The turbocharger and accompanying ECU software are virtually the only engine differences between the LPT and Aero models, so for practically the same price of a replacement Garrett you can upgrade your 9-5 or 9-3 to the Aero specs (given an ECU tune).

Is it a direct swap you may ask? The answer is virtually. The only difference are the turbo lines which have smaller sized banjo bolts on the turbo housing itself. It is therefore easiest to do the swap provided with the stock TD-04 turbo lines (turbo lines carry coolant and oil to and from the turbo).

Some may be content with knowing that they’ve repaired their car and now have a more robust turbo, but you need not stop there! A quick ECU flash will allow you to use your turbo to its fullest! There are several tuning houses for SAAB- some affordable some expensive. You can also do it yourself if you’re ambitious. All the info you need is found at http://www.ecuproject.com.

Feel free to comment with other thoughts/questions

 

14 comments
  1. Very timely entry for me on your turbo ‘upgrade’. The turbo just went on our 2003 Saab 9-5 ‘Linear’ wagon with the 2.3t. I was going to have it replaced with the OEM turbine, but I am reading on your site and others that the Mitsubishi may be preferable.

    The shop I am using (I don’t have the time to tackle this one on my own) is not a Saab shop. I am wondering what parts would be necessary to make it a direct swap. I am referencing the turbocharger page for the 2003 9-5 ‘Aero’ wagon with the 2.3T.

    Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks for the original post. We were about ready to play ‘Spy Hunter’ with our Saab before we learned it was the turbo.

  2. Chuck Wood said:

    My 2003 9-5’s turbo just kicked the bucket. A two lane wide thick, acrid smoke screen just started pouring out of the tailpipe last night. Had to pour in a few quarts of oil to limp home. Where can I source a new or reman TD04 at a good price? I’m contemplating doing a swap, vs a new cartridge for the GT17 @ $500.

    Thanks!

  3. Jim said:

    I changed out my turbo but still getting a lot of smoke, although definitely nowhere near what I had before replacing the turbo. Is this normal?

    Jim

    • Depends on how long you’ve had it running and how much oil you had in your exhaust. I’ve had to drive cars for over 1 hr to get the final remnants of oil out of the exhaust.

  4. John morrison said:

    Are all cartridges on a td 04 the same.am thinking if they are I can change the housings on the turbo?

    • You can change the CHRA itself, but only if it’s cheaper, you still have to pull the turbo.

  5. SPC Barry said:

    I know this is old as **** but that white smoke is from burning coolant.. You burn coolant when you blow a headgasket.

    • There are two smokes: burning oil and evaporated coolant. If it’s a dense (bluish) cloud of smoke then it’s most definitely oil and the most common place is the turbo. I’ve never actually seen a ton of smoke coming from bad head gasket. The head gaskets I’ve seen have been due to a one way leak (compression getting into the cooling system and causing huge pressure and boil over).

  6. I have a 2011 Saab 9-3 base sedan with the Maptune Stage 1 upgrade. The ECU change made a huge difference but I would also like to install a NEW TD04. Where can I buy one? THANK YOU!

  7. Josh Jellel said:

    Any trick to sourcing salvaged turbo lines? The car parts finders don’t seem to have those parts listed, and I’m guessing salvaged turbos don’t just come with the banjos, washers and lines. Do I just have to start calling local yards and asking if they have Aeros?

    Also, thanks in advance for saving me hundreds of dollars!

  8. I have a 1999 Saab 93. I really like and trust the car. The turbo went. I’m going to replace it. Would you know what type of tools are required and specific sizes? Thanks in advance.

  9. Matt said:

    Hi, first thank you for the DIY instructions, I’m going to try to swap my broken turbo for a TD04. Will the car still run without doing the ECU flash? I’m just wondering if I will be able to drive it to a shop to get this done…

Leave a comment